I started web development in June with expectations of getting a job in 3 to 6 months max on the basis of the myriad of ‘How I got a developer job in 3 months’ posts and videos online. Well, this is the sixth month and I am proud to say have failed at this. However, this is not all I have failed at.
I have failed to take breaks when necessary , because of my rush to get a role. I have also failed to step up and reboot my drive to learn web development for a month now, because of the number of rejections I've received already. In September I applied to over 20 internship and junior developer roles and got none. So I decided to focus on learning some more Javascript. I did learn a lot, however, I didn't give myself enough time to assimilate and enjoy what I was learning and in a few weeks I experienced immense burnout. This hasn't changed for the past month now. In the last month, I have opened my laptop to code for only about 10 hours and this is possibly an exaggeration. the reality is I am probably not job ready by company standards, so my only hope is to keep improving and learning. A few lessons I have learned thus far are:

  1. Always finish what you start e.g finish the course I started web development with, by Angela Yu .
  2. Stop comparing your knowledge base with others. You only hurt yourself this way. Just make sure you understand what you know.
  3. Be proud of your small projects. Those little wins are important to enjoy creating things.
  4. You will fail. Not sometimes, but , a lot of the time. But you should accept it anyways and keep failing forwards nonetheless.
  5. Take breaks from your laptop once in a while, have something apart from code to enjoy, because code alone will fail you.
  6. Never lose the curiosity to learn. The moment it becomes more of a chore is the moment you need to take a break.

      I hold these nuggets closer to heart as I restart my web development journey for the second time. I hope this helps someone, and will be glad to receive any feedbacks so as to improve.